You are here


UN Security Council Extends Terms of Office of the ICTR Judges

On 29 June 2010, the United Nations Security Council agreed to extend the terms of office of five permanent and nine ad litem Judges who are members of the Trial Chambers until 31 December 2011 or completion of their assignments, if sooner. The terms of office of the two permanent Judges who are members of the Appeals Chamber were extended until 31 December 2012 or until the completion of the cases to which they are assigned, if sooner.

The permanent Judges of the Trial Chambers whose terms of office have been extended are Charles Michael Dennis Byron (Saint Kitts and Nevis), Khalida Rachid Khan (Pakistan), Arlette Ramaroson (Madagascar), William H. Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania) and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov (Russian Federation).

The ad litem Judges are Aydin Sefa Akay (Turkey), Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon), Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda), Vagn Joensen (Denmark),Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso), Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya), Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea), Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson (Madagascar) and Emile Francis Short (Ghana).

The Tribunal welcomes this decision of the Security Council which will enable it to complete the remaining workload on trial and appeals level.

The Council further called upon relevant UN bodies to work with the Tribunal to find solutions to address the problems of staff retention. Staffing constraints, as highlighted by the President in his last report to the Security Council, are the major obstacle for the successful implementation of the Completion Strategy.

The Council took also note of the concerns raised by the ICTR President Judge Byron regarding the report of the Prosecutor on the lack of cooperation of Kenya in the case of fugitive Félicien Kabuga, as well as the statement and pledge made by Kenya at the Security Council meeting of 18 June 2010. The Council reiterated its call on all states, especially the states of the Great Lakes Region, to intensify cooperation with and render all necessary assistance to the Tribunal. The Council in particular called upon relevant states to increase their efforts to bring Félicien Kabuga, Augustin Bizimana, Protais Mpiranya and other indictees of the International Tribunal to justice.

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850