You are here


President Byron and Vice Preseident Khan Re-elected

During the 21st Plenary Session of the UN International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda today the Judges re-elected Charles Dennis Byron (Saint Kitts and Nevis), President, and Khalida Rachid Khan (Pakistan), Vice-President, for a second term of two years.

Both were re-elected by acclamation in a closed session.

Judge Byron arrived at the Tribunal in June 2004 and is a member of Trial Chamber III. Prior to joining the Tribunal, he served as a judge and later as the Chief Justice of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court. He began his career in private practice as a Barrister in 1966. In 2000, Judge Byron was conferred the honour of Knight Bachelor by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. In 2004, he was appointed to be a member of the Privy Council (UK).

Judge Khan has been a judge at the Tribunal since August 2003 and is the presiding Judge of Trial Chamber III. Prior to joining the Tribunal, she served as a judge of the High Court of Peshawar, where she was the first Pakistani woman ever appointed. She began her career as a civil judge in 1974 and later became the Deputy Secretary in the Law Department of the Government of the North-West Frontier Province of Pakistan. She was also the first woman to be appointed as Sessions Judge in the Indian subcontinent.

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850