You are here


Sir Dennis Byron Sworn in as Permanent ICTR Judge

Judge Charles Michael Dennis Byron (St Kitts & Nevis) was sworn in as a permanent Judge on 23 June 2004 in a ceremony administered by the President of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Judge Erik Møse. The ceremony was witnessed by the Registrar, Mr. Adama Dieng, representing the UN Secretary-General. The ceremony took place in the presence of the other judges of the Tribunal, the Prosecutor Mr. Hassan Bubacar Jallow, ICTR staff and Representatives of Defence Counsel.

Born in 1943 in Basseterre, St. Kitts, Sir Charles Michael Dennis Byron became Chief Justice of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court in 1999. Prior to this, he was Judge of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court since 1982. Judge Byron had been in private practice as a Barrister-at Law throughout Leeward Islands with Chambers in St. Kitts, Nevis and Anguilla from 1966 to 1982, before being appointed Judge. He read law at Cambridge, before being called to the Bar at the Hon. Society of Inner Temple as Barrister-at-Law of the High Court of Justice of England and Wales. In 2000, Judge Byron was conferred the award of Knight Bachelor by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850