You are here


New composition of Trial Chambers

During the Sixth Plenary Session of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda held in Arusha between 31 May and 4 June 1999, three new judges took up their duties (see Press Release No. 185). The final act of the Plenary was the election of a new President, Judge Navanethem Pillay of Republic of South Africa (See Press Release No. 187).

President Pillay has now assigned the judges to the Trial Chambers as follows:

Trial Chamber I: Judge Navanethem Pillay (Republic of South Africa), President of the Chamber and of the ICTR; Judge Erik Møse (Norway); Judge Asoka de Zoysa Gunawardana (Sri Lanka).

Trial Chamber II: Judge Laïty Kama (Senegal), President of the Chamber; Judge William Hussein Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania); Mehmet Güney (Turkey).

Trial Chamber III: Judge Lloyd G. Williams (Jamaica and St. Kitts and Nevis), President of the Chamber; Judge Yakov Arkadievich Ostrovsky (Russian Federation); Judge Pavel Dolenc (Slovenia).

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850