You are here


More Ad Litem Judges to the Tribunal

On Monday 27 October 2003, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1512 and increased the number of ad litem judges who may serve on the Tribunal at any one time, from four to nine. It also authorized ad litem judges to adjudicate in pre-trial proceedings. These statutory amendments were requested by the Tribunal in September this year.
The President of the Tribunal, Judge Erik Møse, expresses the ICTR’s appreciation for the Security Council’s prompt consideration and adoption of the amendments, which are essential to ensure the timely completion of the mandate of the Tribunal.

Earlier today, three of the four ad litem judges who have previously been appointed, were sworn in: Judge Flavia Lattanzi (Italy), Judge Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon) and Judge Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya). The swearing-in ceremony was administered by the President of the Tribunal and witnessed by the Registrar, Mr Adama Dieng, on behalf of the Secretary-General of the United Nations. The ceremony took place in the presence of Trial Chamber Judges, the Prosecutor, and representatives of Defence Counsel. The fourth ad litem judge at the Tribunal, Judge Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda), was sworn in on 1 September 2003.

Three of the four ad litem judges are women. This brings the total number of female judges at the Tribunal to eight. The others are the Vice-President, Judge Andrésia Vaz (Senegal), Judge Arlette Ramaroson (Madagascar), Judge Inés Mónica Weinberg de Roca (Argentina), Judge Khalida Rachid Khan (Pakistan), and the former President, Judge Navanethem Pillay who will be leaving the Tribunal at the end of the year to take up her functions as a Judge at the International Criminal Court.

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850