You are here


Judge Byron Elected New President of the ICTR

During the ICTR 17 th Plenary Session on 21 May 2007, the judges elected Judge Dennis C. M. Byron ( St. Kitts and Nevis) as President of the ICTR and Judge Khalida Rachid Khan ( Pakistan) as Vice-President.

Judge Byron replaces Judge Erik Møse ( Norway), with effect from 29 May 2007. Judge Møse has served for four years, which is the maximum term according to the Rules of Procedure and Evidence. Judge Byron arrived at the Tribunal in June 2004 and is a member of Trial Chamber III. Prior to joining the Tribunal, he served as Judge and later as Chief Justice of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court. He began his career in private practice as a Barrister in 1966. In 2000, Judge Byron was conferred the honor of Knight Bachelor by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. In 2004, he was appointed to be a member of the Privy Council (UK).

Judge Khan replaces Judge Arlette Ramaroson ( Madagascar), who did not seek re-election as Vice-President. Judge Khan has been a judge at the Tribunal since August 2003 and is presiding Judge of Trial Chamber III. Prior to joining the Tribunal, she served as a Judge on the High Court of Peshawar, where she was the first Pakistani woman ever appointed to that position. She began her career as a civil judge in 1974 and later became the Deputy Secretary in the Law Department of the Government of the North-West Frontier Province of Pakistan. She was also the first woman to be appointed as Sessions Judge in the Indian subcontinent.

During the Plenary, the Judges adopted two amendments to the Rules and exchanged views on issues to be solved in connection with the Completion Strategy.

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850