You are here


Election of 18 ad litem judges to the ICTR

The United Nations General Assembly yesterday, 25 June 2003, elected 18 ad litem judges to the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR), to further expedite the Tribunal’s work.

The judges are:

Mr. Aydin Sefa Akay (Turkey)

Ms. Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon)

Ms. Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda)

Mr. Robert Fremr (Czech Republic)

Ms. Taghreed Hikmat (Jordan)

Ms. Karin HÖkborg (Sweden)

Mr. Vagn Joensen (Denmark)

Mr. Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso)

Mr. Tan Sri Dato ‘Hj. Mohd. Azmi Dato ‘Hj. Kamaruddin (Malaysia)

Ms. Flavia Lattanzi (Italy)

Mr. Kenneth Machin (United Kingdom)

Mr. Joseph Edward Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)

Mr. Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya)

Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)

Mr. Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson (Madagascar)

Mr. Emile Francis Short (Ghana)

Mr. Albertus Henricus Joannes Swart (Netherlands)

Ms. Aura Emerita Guerra de Villalaz (Panama)

The election follows the decision of the United Nations Security Council in Resolution 1431 (2002) to establish a pool of ad litem judges for the ICTR. The judges will serve a four-year term, beginning on 25 June 2003. At any one time a maximum of four ad litem judges shall be members of each Trial Chamber.

For information only - Not an official document

UN-ICTR External Relations and Communication Outreach Unit | Tel.: +1 212 963 2850