You are here


Prosecutor Jallow Delivers Keynote Speech on Multilateral Treaty for Mutual Legal Assistance for International Crimes at the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs

At the invitation of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of The Netherlands in The Hague, Justice Hassan B. Jallow, Prosecutor of the ICTR and the MICT, gave a keynote speech, on 23 June 2015, at a strategic meeting of supporting States for an international convention on mutual legal assistance for international crimes. Speaking on the theme “Towards a Multilateral... more

Statement by Justice Hassan B. Jallow Prosecutor UN-ICTR & UN-MICT to the United Nations Security Council

Mr President, Your Excellencies, I feel greatly honoured to once more present a progress report on the work of the OTP of both the ICTR and of the MICT, this time covering the six months since December 2014. The ICTR has now reached a milestone in the march to completion and closure. In 2015, the Office of the Prosecutor presented its oral arguments in the case of the ... more

Address by Judge Vagn Joensen, President of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda to the United Nations Security Council

Mister President, Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen, I would like to begin by extending my congratulations to the distinguished representative of Malaysia, His Excellency Ambassador Dato’ Ramlan Ibrahim who presides over the Security Council in June. I also seize this opportunity to welcome the distinguished representatives of Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and... more

Judge Vagn Joensen Re-Elected as President at Final ICTR Plenary Session

On 13 May 2015 the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda ("ICTR") held its 25th plenary session in The Hague, The Netherlands. In attendance were all ten remaining judges of the ICTR, representatives of the Prosecutor and Registrar, and staff from the Chambers and Registry. ICTR President Judge Vagn Joensen remarked during the session that this was expected to be the... more

The Appeals Chamber Hears Oral Arguments in the Nyiramasuhuko et al. Case

The Appeals Chamber of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, composed of Judges Fausto Pocar, presiding, Liu Daqun, Carmel Agius, Khalida Rachid Khan, and Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov heard the oral arguments in the appeals lodged by Pauline Nyiramasuhuko, Arsène Shalom Ntahobali, Sylvain Nsabimana, Alphonse Nteziryayo, Joseph Kanyabashi, Élie Ndayambaje, and the... more

ICTR to Hold Appeals Hearings in Nyiramasuhuko Et. Al ("Butare") Case from 14-22 April 2015

The Appeals Chamber of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda ("ICTR"), composed of Judge Fausto Pocar, Presiding, Judge Liu Daqun, Judge Carmel Agius, Judge Khalida Rachid Khan, and Judge Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov, will hear the appeals in the Nyiramasuhuko et. al. (“Butare”) case beginning on Tuesday 14 March 2015 at the ICTR headquarters in Arusha,... more

ICTR Prosecutor Releases Best Practices Manual on Referral of International Criminal Cases to National Jurisdictions

Today, ICTR Prosecutor Hassan Bubacar Jallow released a best practices manual on the referral of international criminal cases to national jurisdictions for trial.  The manual documents the ICTR Office of the Prosecutor’s (OTP) experience in securing the referral of ten genocide indictments to national jurisdictions for trial.  Since the ICTR’s establishment on 8 November 1994... more

ICTR Expected to close down in 2015

The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) is primed to close down during this year, 2015, after over twenty years of prosecuting persons who played leading roles in the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, during which Hutu and others who opposed the genocide were also killed, which claimed the lives of around one million innocent civilians. Only one major... more

MICT Appeals Chamber partially affirms the convictions against Ngirabatware

The Appeals Chamber of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals, composed of Judge Theodor Meron, presiding, Judge Bakone Justice Moloto, Judge Christoph Flügge, Judge Burton Hall, and Judge Liu Daqun, delivered today its judgement on the appeal lodged by Augustin Ngirabatware. The judgement delivered today is the first appeal judgement delivered by the... more

Video: UNTV Broadcast of New York Commemorative Event - 20th Anniversary of the ICTR

On the occasion of the thirteenth session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, the ICTR organized a commemorative event for its 20th anniversary.